Frightening Nights

When the light flicks on and off,

The dark room gives me creeps,

and the door clutters and cranks,

And somewhere, an alarm beeps.

The only thing that scares me is that,

It isn’t my morning alarm,

But a night alarm from somewhere else,

Makes me think I’ll come to great harm.

And then icy fingers,

Run up my spine and chill,

Every single bone in my body,

Makes me think there’s someone waiting to kill.

And in the deep, dark night,

There’s no light, and nothing bright,

That you’ll perspire and impatiently wait,

For the frightening night to abate.

One thought on “Frightening Nights

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

